top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLucy Singletary

Clothed in Peace

Updated: Sep 4, 2019

Friends -


A quick word.


I snapped this shot without much thought on our way home from Ulu Pono Outreach earlier this week. I honestly contemplated deleting it, but today this picture caught my eye. Not because it is the best photograph I have ever taken or seen, and not because this view meant anything to me at the time, but in a silly way this picture kind of looks like my first week out here in Wahiawa.


If you only focus on the foreground, this image is chaotic. It’s blurry. But if you look in the background you find focus in the majestic mountains. There is clarity and there is rest.


This week has been jammed packed! Three days of orientation, loads of information about our daily 8-5 work schedules, and full of adventures around our new island home. Now we sit in our first weekend - no work, no obligations, nowhere to be. Just a 19-year-old in a place I’ve never been before trying to build relationships with people I met for the first time seven days ago. On the surface, its chaos, blurry, and moving far too quickly. You can’t make much sense of what’s happening. But, if you step back, and draw your eyes up, there is a Divine sense of peace. I can rest in the truth that I am exactly where I am supposed to be. Much like the rolling hills in the background of this picture, there's layers of faithfulness that led me to Wahiawa, Hawaii for the next three months. Although masked by the quick pace of a new lifestyle, there is rest in the mountains clothed in peace.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page